How to do an automatic retune

What channels could I get on Freeview?

What do I need to get Freeview Play?

 

To get the best service from Freeview it's important to retune from time to time to keep your channel line-up and TV service up to date.

When something has changed or been updated, most Freeview devices will ask you to retune (rescan) for any channel changes. This usually just involves pressing retune when prompted, but from time to time you may need to start this process yourself.

To help with this, check out our handy retune videos from the links below or follow the step by step instructions outlined on this article.

Retune videos

Generic Freeview TV LG TV
Alba TV Logic TV
Bush TV Panasonic TV
Finlux TV Sony TV
Humax Recorder Samsung TV
JVC TV Toshiba TV

Retuning: a step-by-step guide

Automatic retunes vary slightly depending on which device you have, but they usually include the following simple steps.  If these do not match your device, please refer to your instruction manual for specific instructions. 

  1. Press menu on your box or TV remote control.
  2. Select set-upinstallationupdate or a similar option. If you’re asked for a password, the default code is 1234 or 0000.
  3. Select first-time installation (sometimes called factory resetfull retune or default settings).
  4. Press OK if your equipment asks if it's OK to delete existing channels, then your retune should start automatically.
  5. If prompted, save the channels that are found.

The instructions in this article should work for most Freeview TVs or boxes, but designs can differ, if you are unsure of what buttons to press on your remote or where to find the retune option on your TV please visit your manufacturer's site where you can download the manual for your device.

If you are having problems viewing channels after retuning we can help you to fix the problem

Manufacturer websites

Bush  Mitchell & Brown 
Finlux  Panasonic 
Hisense  Philips 
Hitachi  Polaroid 
JVC  Sharp 
LG  Sony 
Loewe  TCL Netgem 
Manhattan  

After retuning

You might find that your channel favourites and scheduled recordings are also deleted after retuning, so you'll need to check and reset them. But any recordings you've made should still be there.

But if your set-top box or TV isn’t working correctly, you may sometimes need to clear its memory completely or reboot it. If you have any problems, check the user manual, or get in touch with the manufacturer.

 

Was this article helpful?

  • Yes
  • No

Thanks for voting!